Balogun settles for AFCON qualifiers

Balogun

Recovering Super Eagles defender, Leon Balogun has set himself a target of playing for the national team in the Nations Cup qualifiers that will kick off in September.

Balogun is not among the 30 players listed in the provisional Eagles squad for the 2014 FIFA World Cup in Brazil.

“I want to be back when the qualifiers for the African Cup of Nations starts and I want to give my all, because Nigeria is the only country I can call my own’, Balogun said on Tuesday.

“For the Super Eagles I wish them the best in Brazil 2014 because I know they will do very well and I will be there rooting for them all the way.

He also had words of praise for the NFF and Stephen Keshi, who kept tabs on him while he was injured.
“The NFF President sent Barr Chris Green here to see me while I was recovering and the Head Coach has been in constant touch all through.

“I have been trying to reach Coach Keshi, just to tell him that I appreciate his support.

“I will be back and better for Nigeria and my club once I recover from this unfortunate injury, he said.

He is just recovering from a toe injury he copped in the Eagles friendly game against Mexico in Atlanta, United States.

Balogun also told Super Eagles Media Officer Ben Alaiya on phone from Germany, that it would have been unfair if a player who was just recuperating was picked ahead of a lot of others waiting in the wings.

“I have to be realistic, I had little or no chance of making the World Cup team because I have just started running now.

“On Monday I did three minutes five times; and on Tuesday I have done eight minutes, three times, and should be back playing in two weeks but that will not get me ready for the World Cup.

The German born Ijebu Ode boy was overlooked by the technical crew when the list of 30 players out of which 23 will be picked for the Mundial, was collated.

Please leave a comment

